Jokke Schreurs Septet

Wannes Van de Velde's repertoire is played by Jokke Schreurs, who has expanded his line-up to a septet. With two horns and a piano as added value, we get a bigger and broader sound: three horns, which immediately creates a big band effect.



The music of one of Flanders' greatest folk singers is captured in beautiful and slightly swinging arrangements. This effect is played out to the full in the revival of the classic Ik Wil deze Nacht In de Straten Verdwalen, which also appeared on Aquarel. When afterwards De Coupletten swings out of the speakers, the tone is set for a particularly enjoyable and warm jazz album that is also a worthy tribute to an icon.


Jokke Schreurs - guitar 
Bart Van Caenegem - piano
Jos Machtel - Double bass 
Luc Vanden Bosch - drums
Nabou Claerhout - trombone
Sam Vloemans - trompet

Frank Vaganée - saxophone

Muze Jazz Orchest XL & Lennert Baerts

Heusden-Zolder is blessed with a lot of musical and creative talent. One of those super talents is saxophonist Lennert Baerts. He decided to make a composition especially for our Muze Jazz Orchestra that is completely inspired by our current, noisy times. Lennert is a thinker and his thoughts got shape in a beautiful composition of almost two hours: 'Times Change And So Must We'.


Lennert Baerts - tenor saxophone, compositions

Carlo Nardozza - trumpet

Lieven Cambré - alto saxophone

Koen Nys - tenor saxophone

Nabou Claerhout - trombone

Stien Carlier - baritone saxophone

Fien Desmet - vocals

Marco Cirone - guitar

Andres Liefsoens - vibraphone, glockenspiel

David Demuynck - fender rhodes, grand piano, synths

Rob Vanspauwen - double bass, bass guitar

David La Mela - drums



“Azbeul” is a sextet founded on the initiative of French saxophonist Abel Jednak, which mixes groove, funk, hip-hop and even post 70s jazz. Azbeul’s music is mainly focused on the leader’s compositions, assigning each instrumentalist their own place while simultaneously showcasing their talent, be it through their arrangements or through their virtuous improvisations. 


Abel Jednak (FR) - saxophone

Romain Garcera (FR) - vibraphone

Nabou Claerhout (BE) - trombone

Matthieu Vandenabeele (FR) - piano

Federico Pecoraro (IT) - bass

Olivier Penu (BE) - drums


Tadpole Evolution

Rebekka Van Bockstal assembles eight musicians with different musical backgrounds. Because of the big instrumentation, Tadpole Evolution has a wide range of colors that is carefully selected and orchestrated. The central theme of their compositions is based on growth, an element which they use to experiment with musical latitude, timbre and dynamics. In February 2017 the band recorded an EP, one of the songs can be listened online, the full EP is physically available.

Rebekka Van Bockstal (BE) - guitar & compositions

Nabou Claerhout (BE) - trombone

Abel Jednak (FR) - alto saxophone

Claire Parsons (LUX) - voice

Flavio Spampinato (IT) - voice

Willem Suilen (NL) - piano

Olivier Penu (BE) - drums

Federico Stocchi (IT) - double bass

© the foghouse

Nationaal Jeugd Jazz Orkest 2015/2016

The National Youth Jazz Orchestra is an orchestra that is reformed every two years. Together with the new musicians there is also every two year a new conductor. NYJO IV is led by artistic director, conductor, arranger and composer Martin Fondse. In 2016 they performed at places as Bimhuis, LantarenVenster and Amersfoort Jazz, worked together with the strings of the Metropole Orchestra and they did the muziekzomer with NJO and Steffen Schorn. This latter project was recorded for a live CD. In 2017 the NYJO played at the North Sea Jazz festival and again there was a collaboration with the NJO, this time conducted by Jules Buckley. This fusion of orchestras was called 'Jong Metropole' and it played at places as Grachtenfestival and Radio Kootwijk. At 19 September 2017 the NYJO IV won the award 'Zilveren Notenkraker': a recognition and an incentive prize for upcoming talent.